Award Recipients

DAIP Leadership in Diversity & Inclusion Award Recipients

2017 Awards

  • Robert A. DiMuccio chairman, president, and chief executive officer of Amica Mutual Insurance Company for championing Amica’s diverse and inclusive culture and its commitment to community initiatives. Under Bob’s leadership Amica has been a devoted supporter of equity and inclusion, youth development, and the growth and development of minority- and women-owned businesses.


  • Vanessa Flores-Maldonado for her role as the campaign coordinator for the Community Safety Act renamed the Providence Community–Police Relations Act. Vanessa was a leading advocate for this groundbreaking ordinance which was passed by the Providence City Council on June 1, 2017. The ordinance bans racial profiling; profiling based on gender identity; places limits on police searches and surveillance; limits police collusion with Immigration and Customs Enforcement; and, further protects the rights of immigrants, youth, and people of color.

2016 Awards

  • Dr. Jodi Glass, for her 38 years as an advocate for equity and inclusion. Through her efforts the General Assembly removed gender-specific language from Rhode Island’s laws and expanded the definition of hate crimes to include sexual orientation, gender and disability.



  • Lucy Rios, for her tireless work to prevent domestic violence.  Her outreach and trainings in diverse communities ensure that criminal justice personnel, service providers and others understand the complicated dynamics of domestic violence and are able to create pathways to prevention.


  • Year Up, for providing Opportunity Youth in Rhode Island with the skills, knowledge and experience that today’s businesses demand and ensuring these young adults begin successful careers and earn a living wage.

2015 Awards

  • Judge Edward Clifton, for his 20 years of service as an Associate Justice on the Rhode Island Superior Court where he made significant contributions to the justice system and demonstrated exemplary commitment to access and fairness in the courts.


  • Dr. Toby Ayers, Executive Director of Rhode Island For Community and Justice (RICJ) for her civil rights leadership and her career of advocacy for women, youth and people of color.


2014 Awards

  • Congressman James Langevin, for his key role in the historic improvements to the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and; his untiring advocacy to ensure a more accessible, inclusive and productive atmosphere for everyone.
  • Adeola Oredola, Executive Director of Youth In Action (YIA), for her outstanding leadership, diversity outreach and work to include and empower youth.

2013 Awards

  • House Speaker Gordon Fox, for his tireless efforts for marriage equality in Rhode Island.

2012 Awards

  • Gilbane, Inc., for their inclusive business practices and commitment to diversity & inclusion in Rhode Island and across the country.